Giving the gift of MUSIC…

A few months ago I heard about an organization called Donors Choose, not knowing much about it, I signed up and decided to give it a chance.  Donors Choose is organization that lets you post items you need in your classroom (as a project) and donors (complete strangers/friends/etc..) browse through the pages of needed items and choose to give to a project.  I just found out that mine was completely funded!

I asked for four djembe’s, two large and two small.  I already have a few hand drums, shakers, and other non pitched percussion instruments and now we will have djembe’s to go a long with them 😀 I want to incorporate more drumming in my classroom and start an after school drum circle.  I think my students will benefit greatly from it.  They will be involved in something that makes them a part of a community, be able to express their emotions in a positive way, and most importantly have fun!  I can’t wait for the drums to come in, I know the kids are going to have a blast.

2 responses

  1. Congrats on your new drums! I’ve had a lot of success with Donorschoose. Best wishes to you for future projects.

    1. Thanks! my kids really love them!

Leave a Reply

