I made it!

My first year of teaching is coming to a close.  It is very bitter sweet. I have enjoyed every minute of it.  I certainly had my ups and downs, students who drove me nuts, and well lets face it co-workers too, but through it all I have certainly learned a lot and can not wait to see what next year holds.

In the past month or so a lot has happened.  I had to reinterview for my job  (my entire school had to reinterview), which lucky for me I was accepted back, but painfully watched others be turned away.  No one seemed to knows what our new principal was looking for, but hopefully it will all work out for the best!

My K/1st grade students had their spring program which turned out great! They sang, danced, and acted their hearts out.  The parents love it and I was pleased to have finished my last big program of the year.

Fifth grade is now getting read to have the promotion celebration at which they will be singing 4 songs.  They are doing a wonderful job.  In December they sang for the Holiday program and to hear what progress they have made since then in singing brings me great joy!  I can not wait until Thursday when they perform for last time as ELEMENTARY students!

Overall, my first year was great! If there are any graduating first year teachers out there, I wish you the best of luck and remember always welcome your students with a smile.

2 responses

  1. Would you consider being a guest blogger on my blog. I am a 26 year veteran of music education. My 5th year as an elementary school music teacher. 19 years as a band director.

    View my blog and let me know. Thanks – Larry
    http://LarryShudra.wordpress.com

    1. sure I would love too! What do you have in mind? I will also post you in my links if you will do the same. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

