Time for a new year!

I am amazed at how quickly my first year of teaching flew by!  A flash of Summer, and now the new school year begins. I have moved to another state and just received my second job.  Nothing will ever be like my first job…which I will always give credit to making me the teacher I am today.  I know I was only there a year, but I will be forever changed.

I feel like I am going into another “first” year teaching experience since I am at a new school.  However, I know that I will be more confident in what I do.  I will still take with me all the things my previous school taught me.  My new school will be a new challenge.  There aren’t many instruments (yet), so I will have to be creative in planning lessons to engage students.  I will be directing a 5th grade band (comprised of a small group of kids), which I am very excited about.  I would like to start an after school chorus and during the school day incorporate recorder in the 4th and 5th grade general music classes.  The building I am in is pretty new and has a lot of new technology including a prometheum board (similar to a smart board)!  I am excited to see what I can do with it.  If anyone uses one of these boards and has any tips, please post them!  It would be a great help.

I will continue to blog throughout this year.  So, as everyone takes off there sun shades, puts away there swim suits, and rejoins the teaching world I hope you will continue to read and comment on my posts!  Best wishes to a great start of the new school year!

One response

  1. Wow! Sounds pretty exciting! Best of luck to ya. “Prometheum Board”? Sounds like a medieval torture device — But my guess is that it probably isn’t though…

Leave a Reply

